基因 治疗

基因治疗作为一种新的治疗疾病的方法正在被更为广泛地研究和开发。基因治疗针对遗传性疾病、或通过基因修饰能得以纠正的疾病,对致病基因进行修正,旨在从根源上解决问题,因此带来了治愈疾病的可能性。基因治疗可通过几种不同的修饰方法来发挥作用,例如:基因替代,即通过向目标组织递送健康的功能性基因来替代有缺陷的基因,或通过基因沉默的方法使致病基因失活,或以基因添加的方式引入新的或修饰过的基因,来达到治疗疾病的目的。

从概念构想 到临床研究

九天生物团队在开发创新的腺相关病毒(Adeno-associated Virus, AAV)基因疗法方面有着深厚的专业知识和丰富的经验,建立了具有自主知识产权的先进AAV平台,可构建、表征和验证AAV病毒载体,拥有从概念构想至临床开发的AAV基因治疗创新研发能力。

在由腺相关病毒 (AAV) 介导的基因治疗中,病毒被用作递送治疗性基因的载体。载体中的衣壳对增强基因治疗药物的组织或细胞特异性、转导效率起着至关重要的作用。因此,发现具有理想特性的AAV衣壳,成为开发新一代AAV基因治疗的关键。

系统性 衣壳进化

九天生物自主研发建立的 AAV 平台 capDRIVE™,是一个基于回收所有AAV衣壳相关核酸的多驱动衣壳发现平台,通过多轮生物淘选和进化,高效筛选具有所需的组织或细胞趋向性和转导效率的新颖 AAV 衣壳。

多样性 AAV文库

通过capDRIVE™衣壳发现平台,九天生物建立了具有多样性的AAV衣壳文库。除了通过在多个动物物种中进行筛选定向进化的方法来识别和表征理想衣壳,我们还基于对AAV衣壳的趋向性和结构的深入了解和丰富的构建经验,采用了理性设计的方法来研发新衣壳,不断构建积累丰富多样的AAV衣壳变体文库。

前沿的 基因组设计

九天生物的AAV研发平台,还具备尖端的基因组设计和构建技术。通过针对治疗性基因以及调控元件的创新设计,使新构建的基因组在目标组织和细胞中具有理想的生物分布和表达水平。在某些特定的设计中,根据需要还可对非目标组织进行去靶向化的方法对表达基因组进行构建和优化,以进一步提高载体的安全性。

研发管线

九天生物将先进的衣壳发现和载体构建技术与对疾病生物学的深入理解相结合,建立了丰富的研发管线,针对多个疾病领域的适应症开发具有突破性的创新疗法。

新药发现
临床前研究
临床开发
Open
眼科
新生血管性黄斑变性 (nAMD)
In-house
年龄相关性黄斑变性
年龄相关性黄斑变性(Age-related Macular Degeneration,AMD)是一种进行性疾病,可引起中央视力严重受损,是导致老年人群不可逆失明的主要原因。AMD可分为两大类:干性或非新生血管性(Dry or Non-Neovascular)AMD,以及湿性或新生血管性(Wet or Neovascular)AMD。新生血管性AMD(nAMD)的发生主要受血管内皮生长因子(VEGF) 的驱动。nAMD可因脉络膜或视网膜处生长的异常新生血管引起的渗漏、水肿和出血造成急性中心视力丧失,或因局部组织的纤维化和萎缩导致视力的慢性衰退。
未公开项目
In-house
未公开项目
In-house
未公开项目
In-house
神经
脊髓性肌萎缩症 (SMA)
In-house
脊髓性肌萎缩症
脊髓性肌萎缩症 (SMA) 是一种常染色体隐性遗传的神经肌肉疾病,由功能性运动神经元存活基因1(SMN1)的缺失或突变引起,导致脊髓运动神经元迅速且不可逆的丢失。在SMA疾病最严重的类型中,若未及时治疗,患者的肌肉功能可受到严重影响,逐渐丧失呼吸、吞咽和基本运动功能,并最终导致过早死亡。
未公开项目
In-house
心血管
扩张性心肌病靶点1 (DCM)
In-house
扩张性心肌病
扩张型心肌病是一种严重的心血管疾病,其因心肌结构或功能异常引发心律失常和心力衰竭等并发症,从而导致严重的发病率和死亡率。相关研究已发现 50 多个可能导致扩张型心肌病的突变基因,占家族性扩张型心肌病病例的 40-50%。其中有许多基因编码的蛋白质在心肌细胞中具有重要的功能,包括细胞骨架、肌节和核包膜蛋白等。
扩张性心肌病靶点2 (DCM)
In-house
扩张性心肌病
扩张型心肌病是一种严重的心血管疾病,其因心肌结构或功能异常引发心律失常和心力衰竭等并发症,从而导致严重的发病率和死亡率。相关研究已发现 50 多个可能导致扩张型心肌病的突变基因,占家族性扩张型心肌病病例的 40-50%。其中有许多基因编码的蛋白质在心肌细胞中具有重要的功能,包括细胞骨架、肌节和核包膜蛋白等。
代谢 / 血液
法布瑞氏症 (Fabry)
In-house
法布里病
法布里病是一种罕见的X连锁遗传性溶酶体贮积症。该病是由编码α-半乳糖苷酶A (α-Gal A)的基因GLA发生突变导致的。α-半乳糖苷酶A的正常功能是降解溶酶体中复杂的糖脂分子。α-半乳糖苷酶A活性的缺失导致其代谢底物在机体中大量堆积,引起细胞和器官受损,尤其是心脏和肾脏功能障碍。
庞贝氏症 (Pompe)
In-house
庞贝氏病
庞贝氏症是一种罕见的常染色体隐性溶酶体贮积症。该病是由编码酸性ɑ-葡萄糖苷酶的基因GAA突变导致。酸性ɑ-葡萄糖苷酶的正常功能是在溶酶体中将糖原降解为葡萄糖。酸性ɑ-葡萄糖苷酶的活性缺失导致糖原在心脏、肌肉和中枢神经系统的大量堆积,引起一系列症状包括心脏功能受损,肌肉无力萎缩,以及最终的呼吸衰竭。
未公开项目
In-house
未公开项目
In-house

Gene therapy

Gene therapy is emerging as a new modality that aims to address the root cause of a disease with inherited defects or a disorder that can be altered through genetic modification. The approach involves different mechanisms to modify the genetic composition of cells, including replacing or inactivating a disease-causing gene with a functional copy of the gene or through a gene-silencing approach, or introducing a new or modified gene into the cells that help treat a disease.

From ideation to clinical

Skyline Therapeutics’ deep expertise in the development of innovative adeno-associated virus (AAV) gene therapy is translated into our proprietary AAV platforms that enable the construction, characterization, and validation of vectors from ideation through to clinical development.

In AAV-based gene therapy development, the virus is used as gene transfer vector to deliver therapeutic transgenes. The discovery of novel AAV capsids is essential to enhancing the specificity, safety, and efficacy profile of next-generation AAV gene therapy.

Systematic capsid evolution

Skyline’s proprietary capDRIVE™ is an AAV capsid engineering and screening platform based on capsid encoding nucleic acid recovery technology. Performed through multi-round biopanning, the platform drives the efficient identification of novel AAV capsids with desired tissue tropism and transduction efficiency.

Diverse AAV libraries

Enabled by capDRIVE™, Skyline’s approach to novel AAV capsid discovery leverages both rational design based on our deep know-how of AAV tropism and structure, as well as experimental screenings carried out in multiple animal species to accelerate the process of identifying and characterizing capsids of interest.

Cutting-edge vector genome design

Skyline’s AAV vector engineering platform focuses on the creative design of therapeutic genes, as well as the regulatory elements. Our proprietary transgene genome engineering and optimization capabilities result in the enhanced quality and novelty of the transgene. The approach also involves de-targeting the non-target tissues, if necessary, to further elevate the therapeutic safety of the vector.

Our pipeline

Skyline’s cutting-edge vector engineering and industry-leading capsid discovery capability, combined with deep understanding of disease biology, powers us to rapidly advance the development of novel therapies that target diseases across multiple therapeutic areas.

Discovery
Preclinical
Clinical
Open
Ocular
Wet Age-related Macular Degeneration
In-house
Age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD)
Age-related macular degeneration (AMD) is a progressive disease that leads to severe impairment of central vision. It is a leading cause of irreversible blindness in the elderly population. AMD can be categorized into two main groups: dry or non-neovascular AMD, and wet or neovascular AMD. wAMD is primarily driven by vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF). wAMD presents with the growth of abnormal vessels, most often from the choroidal vessels, or from the retinal vessels, causing acute vision loss through leakage, edema and bleeding, and if chronic through fibrosis and atrophy.
Undisclosed
In-house
Undisclosed
In-house
Undisclosed
In-house
Neurological
Spinal Muscular Atrophy
In-house
Spinal muscular atrophy (SMA)
Spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) is an autosomal recessive neuromuscular disorder caused by a lack of a functional survival motor neuron 1 (SMN1) gene, which results in rapid and irreversible loss of motor neurons in the spinal cord. The patients with SMA suffer severely from muscle dysfunctions, including difficulties in breathing, swallowing and basic movement, which can lead to pre-mature death when left untreated in the most severe forms of the disease.
Undisclosed
In-house
Cardiovascular
Dilated Cardiomyopathy (Target 1)
In-house
Dilated cardiomyopathy
Dilated cardiomyopathy is a serious cardiac disorder in which structural or functional abnormalities of the heart muscle can lead to complications such as arrhythmia and heart failure, resulting in substantial morbidity and mortality. More than 50 mutated genes associated with DCM have been identified, accounting for 40-50% of familial DCM cases. Many of these genes encode proteins with important known functions in cardiomyocytes related to cytoskeletal, sarcomere and nuclear envelope biology.
Dilated Cardiomyopathy (Target 2)
In-house
Dilated cardiomyopathy
Dilated cardiomyopathy is a serious cardiac disorder in which structural or functional abnormalities of the heart muscle can lead to complications such as arrhythmia and heart failure, resulting in substantial morbidity and mortality. More than 50 mutated genes associated with DCM have been identified, accounting for 40-50% of familial DCM cases. Many of these genes encode proteins with important known functions in cardiomyocytes related to cytoskeletal, sarcomere and nuclear envelope biology.
Metabolic & Blood
Fabry
In-house
Fabry
Fabry disease is a rare inherited X-linked lysosomal storage disorder. It is caused by mutations in the alpha-galactosidase A (GLA) gene, which encodes the alpha-galactosidase A (α-Gal A) enzyme that breaks down complex glycolipids in the lysosomes. Loss of functional α-Gal A leads to a continuous build-up of glycolipids in the body, resulting in the cellular abnormalities and organ dysfunction that particularly affect small blood vessels, the heart, and kidneys.
Pompe
In-house
Pompe
Pompe disease is a rare autosomal recessive lysosomal storage disorder. It is caused by mutations in the acid-a-glucosidase (GAA) gene, which encodes an enzyme that breaks down glycogen to glucose. Deficiency in the GAA enzyme results in the aberrant accumulation of glycogen in various organs including heart, muscles, and CNS. This leads to a variety of symptoms including heart dysfunction, muscle weakness, and eventually respiratory failure.
Undisclosed
In-house
Undisclosed
In-house