尽释基因之潜能 重燃生命之曙光

九天生物秉持充分释放基因科学的无限潜力、为患者重燃生命之光的愿景,汇聚了全球基因治疗领域的一流科研、医学及技术专家和具有卓越领导力的管理团队,携手解决当今世界最具挑战的一些科学与技术问题。

九天生物团队的专业实力涵盖衣壳发现、载体构建与设计、临床前药理学研究、临床开发、分析开发、工艺开发,以及CMC生产等领域。

2019 Established
10+ Pipeline Programs
3 Global Sites
×
蔡克文 博士 MBA 首席执行官

蔡克文博士是九天生物创始人兼首席执行官。她为九天生物组建了一支国际一流的科研、技术和运营管理团队,制定了从新药研发到生产一体化布局、建立全方位整合的先进基因治疗平台来开发高质量创新药物的战略,致力于和团队共同将九天生物打造成全球领先的基因治疗公司,为患者带来具有突破性的新疗法。

蔡克文博士在生物制药行业拥有丰富的领导经验,包括作为创始人及运营总负责人为诺华在中国建立了综合性全球研发中心(诺华生物医学研究中心)。蔡博士在诺华研发中心的总体战略规划与执行,包括制定诺华在中国的研发战略、商务拓展、团队组建、运营发展等方面起了关键性领导作用。

蔡克文拥有美国麻省理工学院 (MIT) 生物化学博士学位、麻省理工学院斯隆管理学院 MBA 学位,及复旦大学微生物学理学学士学位。

×
侯金钊 博士 首席科学官

侯金钊博士担任九天生物首席科学官。他在基因治疗领域拥有丰富的经验。侯博士是一名分子和细胞生物学家,在蛋白质工程、分子与细胞生物学及生物化学研究方面拥有三十多年深厚积累,在开发生物制剂( AAV 基因治疗、蛋白质、抗体)和小分子创新药物方面成绩斐然。专长涵盖不同的治疗领域,包括代谢疾病,神经退行性疾病和癌症。

在加入九天生物之前,侯博士就职于美国基因治疗公司 Voyager Therapeutics 并担任副总裁,领导AAV基因治疗研发工作,成功搭建了公司的AAV 基因治疗研发平台与能力,以及AAV基因治疗研发管线。

侯金钊博士拥有美国Clarkson大学细胞分子生物学博士学位、清华大学化学工程学士学位。

×
苏岭 博士 首席药品开发官

苏岭博士担任九天生物首席药品开发官。他在药品法规和临床开发方面拥有三十年经验,曾就职于中国原卫生部药政管理局(现国家药品监督管理局前身)和美国食品药品管理局 (FDA)。在默沙东、罗氏、惠氏、诺华制药等多家跨国医药企业担任研发高级管理职位,建立和领导药品临床开发团队,负责在中国和亚太地区的全球药物临床试验和新药研发项目。

苏博士曾获选担任药物信息协会 (DIA) 全球理事会主席(2012-2013年)。目前他还担任沈阳药科大学亦弘商学院研究员和香港交易所生物科技咨询小组成员。

苏岭博士毕业于上海医科大学药学院(现复旦大学药学院)药理专业,并在美国北卡罗莱纳大学获得药物临床开发硕士学位和流行病学博士学位。

×
孙筱清 博士 首席运营官

孙筱清博士担任九天生物首席运营官。拥有丰富的海内外生物医药行业经验,在建立企业运营体系、提供高效的业务支持及一线业务管理方面具有卓越领导力。

孙博士曾在赛默飞世尔科技任职十年,担任大中华区基因检测分析事业部技术服务部门负责人及战略合作部门负责人。在加入赛默飞之前,曾担任睿星基因研发部负责人、高级副总裁,负责领导公司的药物研发项目及对外合作。

孙筱清博士拥有上海复旦大学遗传及遗传工程学士学位、美国罗格斯大学生物化学博士学位,并在南旧金山的基因泰克公司任博士后研究员。

×
李平 博士 首席生产官

李平博士担任九天生物首席生产官。她拥有超过二十年的新药开发和药品生产技术开发和管理经验,包括生产系统设计、生产技术平台搭建、质量管理体系等生产能力的建设。

李博士曾任职于诺华位于美国、中国等地的不同职能部门,包括担任诺华代谢产品管线全球项目开发负责人,负责项目的药品化学、生产与控制(CMC)体系开发、临床前研究、临床开发,以及全球市场准入和授权等事务。曾领导诺华在中国的CMC部门,负责新药产品设计与开发和规模化生产的工艺开发,以支持全球和中国新药项目的临床药物的生产和供应、以及用于商业化生产的技术转移。

李平博士拥有亚利桑那大学药学博士学位。

×
张薰文 博士 药品法规及开发战略负责人

张薰文博士担任九天生物药品法规及开发战略负责人。她在全球药品法规册事务及开发战略方面拥有数十年的行业经验,曾在安进、百时美施贵宝及诺华等多家跨国医药公司领导新药法规注册和临床药理研发工作。

曾担任安进中国法规事务及JAPAC(日本、亚太、澳大利亚和中国)战略负责人,领导药品法规团队在中国获得了多项里程碑式的新药上市获批。还曾担任百时美施贵宝北亚法规事务及战略副总裁及中国注册事务负责人、诺华美国法规感染科全球负责人、诺华美国临床药理神经科研究部门负责人。

张薰文博士拥有纽约州立大学药学院生物制药博士学位、台北医学院临床药学学士学位。

×
Thaddeus (Ted) P. Dryja医学博士

Thaddeus (Ted) P. Dryja医学博士是哈佛医学院眼科教授、麻省眼耳科医院眼科病理学副主任。

Dryja博士于 1983 年加入哈佛医学院眼科系,负责遗传性视网膜变性(IRD) 的分子遗传学研究,并从事综合眼科和眼科病理学实践。1992 年获正教授职位,1993 年获哈佛大学David Cogan教授职位,1996 年入选美国国家科学院院士。其研究成果包括:发现抑癌基因致癌突变的隐性特征,首次克隆视网膜母细胞瘤基因,以及完成对 16 个遗传性视网膜变性基因的鉴定。

Dryja博士于 2006 年担任诺华生物医学研究中心眼科转化医学主管,并在 2009至 2017 年期间担任诺华眼科研究全球负责人。在诺华任职期间,Dryja博士带领团队开展了多个药物发现项目,并推动多种局部药物与全身药物进入I期临床试验,包括适用于青光眼、干眼症、葡萄膜炎、糖尿病视网膜病变和晚期老年黄斑变性(新生血管性和萎缩性)的低分子量药物和生物药物。Dryja博士还发起并领导了一个针对遗传性视网膜变性(RLBP1 视网膜变性)的基因治疗项目,该项目在其 2017 年从诺华卸任后不久便进入了 I 期临床试验,其中一种用于治疗新生血管性黄斑变性的药物 (brolucizumab)已获 FDA 批准。

Dryja博士拥有耶鲁大学医学院的医学学位。他在哈佛医学院接受了眼科住院医师培训,并在麻省眼耳科医院和波士顿儿童医院完成了病理学和遗传学的博士研究。他目前在麻省眼耳科医院的科根眼科病理实验室担任眼科病理学主治医师。

×
Mitchell Finer博士

Mitchell H. Finer博士在再生医学、基于细胞的癌症免疫疗法以及体内病毒和非病毒基因疗法领域创办企业已有三十年时间,致力于从概念构思至III期临床开发直至上市推动新药研发。迄今为止,他开发的三种细胞治疗产品已在美国和欧洲上市。

Finer博士现担任 Elevate Bio 公司的研发总裁,并兼任 Elevate Bio 全资子公司 Life Edit Inc.(创立于 2020 年)的首席执行官。他于 2018 年与合作伙伴联合创立了 Elevate Bio 公司,并于 2018 年至 2020 年间担任 Elevate Bio Basecamp 的首席科学官兼总裁。自 2015 年起,Finer博士担任MPM Capital执行合伙人。目前,他还是 Abata Therapeutics、Tabby Therapeutics、Turmeric Acquisition Holdings 和 Coda Biotherapeutics 公司的董事会成员。Finer博士还在Oncorus (ONCR) 担任董事会主席,此前,他曾是该公司的创始人兼首席执行官,并在不久前成为执行主席。

创立 Elevate Bio 前,Finer博士曾担任 Bluebird Bio 公司的首席战略官,Intracel Corporation 和 Genteric Inc 公司的首席执行官,以及安万特制药公司(Aventis Pharma,现为赛诺菲)的细胞基因系统与基因细胞部门的研究副总裁。Finer博士还与他人共同创立了视网膜疾病基因治疗公司 Avalanche Biotechnologies,该公司是 Adverum、Oncorus 和 Coda Biotherapeutics 的前身。他还曾是 Semma Therapeutics、TCR2 (TCRR) 和 Adverum (ADVM) 公司的董事会成员。Finer博士拥有哈佛大学生物化学和分子生物学博士学位、加州大学伯克利分校生物化学和微生物学学士学位,并在麻省理工学院的怀特黑德生物医学研究所 (Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research) 完成了博士后研究。

×
Steven K. Galson医学博士,公共卫生硕士

Steven K. Galson医学博士现任安进公司咨询顾问,并在 Insilo Medicine 和 Biocryst Pharmaceuticals 公司董事会任职。Galson博士于 2010 年加入安进担任全球注册事务副总裁,随后担任公司研发高级副总裁直至 2020 年 6 月。加入安进之前,Galson博士曾在科学应用国际公司 (Science Applications International Corporation) 担任国民卫生健康部高级副总裁兼首席医学健康科学家。

Galson博士曾在美国政府部门供职 20 余年,包括担任了两年美国卫生局代理局长。此前,他曾担任美国食品药品监督管理局 (FDA) 药物评估和研究中心 (CDER) 主任,领导该中心广泛开展的多项国内外药物注册监管项目。

Galson博士在宾夕法尼亚医学院医院完成内科住院医师实习后,在美国疾病控制与预防中心 (CDC) 担任流行病学调查员,由此开启了他在公共卫生服务领域的职业生涯。此外,他还曾在美国环境保护署、美国能源部(担任首席医疗官)以及美国卫生与公众服务部担任高级职务。

Galson博士拥有石溪大学的学士学位、西奈山伊坎医学院的医学博士学位,以及哈佛大学公共卫生学院的公共卫生硕士学位。Galson博士是凯克研究所 (Keck Graduate Institute) 的受托人,也是凯克研究所社区医学院 (KGI School of Community Medicine) 的创院理事。2008 年,Galson博士获得了德雷塞尔大学公共卫生学院的公共服务荣誉博士学位,2015 年荣获西奈山医学院授予的雅各比奖章,2018 年被美国公共卫生署委任官员协会评为“年度卫生领袖”。Galson博士是临床试验转型计划 执行委员会成员,并且是美国国家医学院药物发现、开发与转化论坛的成员。

×
Mark A. Kay医学博士,博士

Kay博士是斯坦福大学医学院儿科与遗传学系讲席 Dennis Farrey Family教授,及斯坦福大学医学院儿科人类基因治疗中心负责人。

加入斯坦福大学前,Kay博士于 1993-1998 年在华盛顿大学医学系担任助理/副教授。Kay博士是一位擅长于从实验室到临床研究的医师科学家,曾带领团队率先在小型和大型动物模型中证明了重组腺相关病毒(rAAV) 转导,阐明了 AAV 体内转导的分子过程,为推动rAAV首次人体全身给药的临床试验发挥了重要作用。

Kay博士是美国基因治疗学会(American Society of Gene Therapy,ASGC)的创始人之一,并于 2005-2006 年期间担任该学会主席。他组织了多次全国性及国际性会议,其中包括首届以基因治疗为主题的戈登会议 (Gordon Conference)。Kay博士于 2010 年入选美国儿科学会 (American Academy of Pediatrics),2020 年入选美国国家发明家科学院 (National Academy of Inventors)。

Kay博士获得凯斯西储大学医学学位和博士学位,并完成了儿科住院医师实习以及遗传医学和先天性代谢异常的研究,随后于贝勒医学院从事博士后研究。

×
Adrian Thrasher博士

Adrian Thrasher博士是伦敦大学学院大奥蒙德街儿童健康研究所 (UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health) 儿科免疫学教授。

Thrasher博士最初接受成人医学培训,作为研究院完成了由Wellcome Trust资助的临床学术培训计划并最终取得分子免疫学和基因治疗博士学位。

Thrasher 博士随后获得了临床医生科学家奖,这使他能够在接受儿科培训的同时继续他的科研事业,并成为享有盛誉的首席研究员。

Thrasher博士很快开始引领基因治疗基础科学研究,专注于免疫缺陷性疾病的功能恢复。他在阐明Wiskott-Aldrich综合征中造血细胞的基础细胞骨架缺陷方面发挥了主导作用,并率先通过基因转移纠正了慢性肉芽肿病的潜在分子缺陷问题。  

Thrasher博士曾负责大奥蒙德街儿童医院的造血干细胞基因治疗项目,该医院是英国首家成功实现严重联合免疫缺陷患儿功能恢复和康复的机构。Thrasher博士享誉国际,经常在基因治疗和免疫学的重要会议上发表主题演讲,是全球基因治疗研究领域广获认可的的领军者之一。

×
David A. Williams 医学博士

David A. Williams博士是哈佛医学院儿科Leland Fikes教授,波士顿儿童医院血液和肿瘤科主任,丹娜·法伯癌症研究院儿科肿瘤学副主席。

作为国际知名研究员,Williams博士致力于造血干细胞生物学、白血病和遗传性血液疾病的基因治疗等领域的研究。

Williams博士因其在血液学领域的研究二获得诸多重要奖项。2012 年他凭借在基因治疗方面的突出贡献,获得美国基因和细胞治疗学会授予的杰出成就奖。Williams博士是美国国家医学院成员,并曾担任美国血液学学会和国际实验血液学学会主席。他参与联合创立了跨大西洋基因治疗联盟和北美儿童再生障碍性贫血联盟,并且是Orchard Therapeutics 和 Alerion Biosciences 公司的联合创始人。Williams博士自 1986 年开始获得美国国立卫生研究院的资助,并担任霍华德·休斯医学研究所研究员长达 16 年。他拥有多项专利,其中部分专利被应用于 Neumega™ 和 Retronecin™ 等药物的开发。

Williams博士最初在波士顿儿童医院和丹娜·法伯癌症研究院接受儿科血液学与肿瘤学培训。在麻省理工学院癌症研究中心和怀特黑德研究所研究期间,开发了小鼠和人类造血细胞的基因导入技术。这些技术至今仍被广泛使用。

Unleash the full potential of genetic science for patients

Founded with the vision of unleashing the full potential of genetic science, Skyline Therapeutics brings together a world-class team of experts and leaders in science, technology, and business to tackle some of today’s toughest scientific challenges.

The Skyline team’s capabilities span capsid discovery, vector engineering and design, in-vivo pharmacology, clinical development, analytical and process development, and CMC.

2019 Established
10+ Pipeline Programs
3 Global Sites
×
Amber Cai, Ph.D., MBA Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Amber Cai is the Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Skyline Therapeutics. She has decades of leadership experience in the biopharmaceutical industry, including as a founding member and head of operations for Novartis’ research and development center in Shanghai, the first fully integrated multinational R&D center in China. Dr. Cai played an instrumental role in building the company’s China team and operations, as well as in developing Novartis’ China R&D strategy and external alliances.

Dr. Cai holds a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), an MBA from MIT’s Sloan School of Management and a B.S. in Microbiology from Fudan University.

×
Jay Hou, Ph.D. Chief Scientific Officer

Dr. Jay Hou is the Chief Scientific Officer of Skyline Therapeutics. He brings nearly three decades of experience in protein engineering, molecular/cellular biology, and biochemistry to the role. A molecular and cellular biologist by training, Dr. Hou has a solid track record of accomplishments in the development of innovative medicines in both biologics (AAV gene therapy, protein, and antibody) and small molecules. His expertise covers a number of therapeutic areas including metabolic diseases, neurodegenerative diseases, and cancer. Dr. Hou joined Skyline from the Boston-based gene therapy company Voyager Therapeutics, where he successfully built original AAV gene therapy research and platform capabilities.

Dr. Hou holds a Ph.D. in Cellular/Molecular Biology from Clarkson University, as well as a B.S. degree in Chemical Engineering from Tsinghua University.

×
Ling Su, Ph.D. Chief Development Officer

Dr. Ling Su is the Chief Development Officer of Skyline Therapeutics. He has more than 30 years of experience in pharmaceutical regulatory and clinical development, having previously served as a senior executive for multinational pharmaceutical companies including Merck & Co., Roche, Wyeth and Novartis. He has successfully built and led pharma clinical development organizations across China and overseen numerous global clinical trials and drug development programs in China and the Asia Pacific region. Earlier in his career, Dr. Su worked in China’s Bureau of Drugs of the Ministry of Health (the predecessor of the National Medical Products Administration) and in the U.S. FDA’s Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER). He was elected the President of the Drug Information Association (DIA) Board of Directors for 2012-2013.

Dr. Su is a professor and Research Fellow at the Yeehong Business School at Shenyang Pharmaceutical University and is an inaugural member of the Biotech Expert Advisory Panel for the Hong Kong Stock Exchange.

Dr. Su holds a Bachelor’s degree in Pharmacology from Shanghai Medical University, a Ph.D. in Epidemiology and a Master’s degree in Clinical Drug Development from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

×
Michael Sun, Ph.D. Chief Operations Officer

Dr. Sun is the Chief Operations Officer of Skyline Therapeutics. He brings decades of experience in business and science, across different types of organizations in the industry. His experience and leadership have been focused on developing corporate infrastructure and operational systems, delivering effective and efficient business support to help companies succeed.

Prior to joining Skyline, Dr. Sun spent a decade at ThermoFisher Scientific, where he led the company’s Service and Support function and the Strategic Account Group for the Genetic Systems Division in Greater China. Before joining ThermoFisher, Dr. Sun was Head of Research and Senior Vice President at Shanghai Genomics, where he led the company’s internal drug discovery program and external collaboration.

Dr. Sun received a B.S. in Genetics and Genetic Engineering from Fudan University in Shanghai. He received a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from Rutgers University and trained as a postdoc fellow at Genentech in South San Francisco.

×
Gurpreet Ratra, Ph.D. Chief Business Officer

Dr. Ratra is the Chief Business Officer of Skyline Therapeutics. He has extensive gene therapy industry experience and ​a strong track record in business development and partnerships. He joined Skyline from Spark Therapeutics, where he served as the Vice President of Business Development.

Prior to Spark, Dr. Ratra worked in business development at Adverum Biotech, ​leading a number of in-licensing and out-licensing deals with academic and biotech partners, including a merger between Avalanche Biotech and Annapurna Therapeutics to create Adverum Biotechnologies. 

Dr. Ratra holds a Ph.D. ​in Biochemical Toxicology ​from St. Bartholomew’s Medical School in London and an MBA from the University of California Berkeley.

×
Ping Li, Ph.D. Chief Manufacturing Officer

Dr. Ping Li is the Chief Manufacturing Officer of Skyline Therapeutics. She has more than two decades of industry experience in innovative product development and registration for global markets, as well as in overall CMC development including process R&D, manufacturing, and regulatory submissions.

Formerly Dr. Li held various roles at Novartis US and China. She was the Global Program Head for a metabolic portfolio program responsible for its CMC, preclinical, and clinical development, as well as for its global market access and authorization. She was also the Head of Technical R&D (China) at Novartis, leading the CMC function to develop innovative product designs, robust and scalable manufacturing processes and controls that supported the manufacturing and supply of drug materials for global clinical studies, as well as the successful technical transfer to product launch sites for commercialization.

Dr. Li holds a Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences from the University of Arizona.

×
Wen Chang, Ph.D. Head of Regulatory Affairs and Development Strategy

Dr. Chang is the Head of Regulatory Affairs and Development Strategy at Skyline Therapeutics. She has decades of industry experiences in regulatory and development work across the globe, including leading regulatory and clinical pharmacology efforts at several multinational companies including Amgen, BMS, and Novartis.

In her most recent role as Head of China Regulatory and JAPAC (Japan, AP, Australia, and China) Strategy at Amgen, Dr. Chang spearheaded the regulatory team and achieved several landmark market authorization approvals in China. Prior to her time at Amgen, she held several senior executive positions on the global regulatory team and in global clinical pharmacology at BMS and Novartis, USA.

Dr. Chang holds a Ph.D. in Biopharmaceuticals from the School of Pharmacy at the State University of New York, and a B.S. in Pharmacy from Taipei Medical College.

×
Thaddeus (Ted) P. Dryja, M.D.

Dr. Thaddeus (Ted) P. Dryja, M.D. is a Professor of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School and an Associate Director of Eye Pathology at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary.

Dr. Dryja joined the faculty of the Department of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School in 1983 and led research in the molecular genetics of inherited retinal diseases (IRDs), as well as practicing general ophthalmology and ophthalmic pathology. In 1992, he became a full professor, in 1993, the David Cogan Professor at Harvard, and in 1996, a National Academy of Sciences member. Dr. Dryja’s research accomplishments include the discovery of the recessive nature of oncogenic mutations at tumor suppressor genes, the first cloning of the retinoblastoma gene, and the identification of 16 IRD genes.

He became the Head of Translational Medicine in Ophthalmology at the Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research in 2006, and from 2009-2017 served as the Global Head of Ophthalmology Research at Novartis. During his time at Novartis, Dr. Dryja led teams that initiated drug discovery projects and brought many topical and systemic drugs to phase I trials, including low-molecular weight and biologic drugs and for indications including glaucoma, dry eye, uveitis, diabetic retinopathy, and both advanced forms of age-related macular degeneration (neovascularization and geographic atrophy). He also initiated and led a gene therapy program for an IRD (RLBP1 retinal degeneration) that reached phase I soon after his retirement from Novartis in 2017. One of the drugs for neovascular macular degeneration is now approved by the FDA (brolucizumab).

Dr. Dryja received his medical degree from the Yale University School of Medicine. He received residency training in Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School and completed doctoral fellowships in Pathology at Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and in Genetics at Boston Children's Hospital. He currently works as an attending eye pathology in the Cogan Eye Pathology Laboratory at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear.

×
Mitchell H. Finer, Ph.D.

Dr. Mitchell H. Finer has spent three decades building companies in the areas of regenerative medicine, cell-based cancer immunotherapy, and in vivo viral and non-viral gene therapy, developing products from conception through phase III development and market launch. To date, he has developed three cell therapy products marketed in the U.S. and Europe.

Dr. Finer is currently serving as the President of Research and Development at Elevate Bio, as well as Chief Executive Officer of Life Edit Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Elevate Bio since 2020. He co-founded Elevate Bio in 2018 and served as the Chief Scientific Officer & President of Elevate Bio Basecamp from 2018 to 2020. He has also served as an Executive Partner at MPM Capital since 2015. Currently, Dr. Finer is a member of the board of directors at Abata Therapeutics, Tabby Therapeutics, Turmeric Acquisition Holdings and Coda Biotherapeutics. He also serves as Chairman of the Board for Oncorus (ONCR), where he previously served as founder & CEO and most recently as Executive Chairman.

Prior to Elevate Bio, Dr. Finer served as the CSO of Bluebird Bio, CEO of Intracel Corporation and Genteric Inc, and as Vice President of Research for Cell Genesys and the Gencell division of Aventis Pharma (now Sanofi). Mitch also successfully co-founded the retinal disease gene therapy company Avalanche Biotechnologies, now Adverum, Oncorus and Coda Biotherapeutics. He has previously served on the boards of Semma Therapeutics, TCR2 (TCRR), and Adverum (ADVM).

Dr. Finer received his Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from Harvard University and a B.S. in Biochemistry and Microbiology from the University of California at Berkeley. Dr. Finer completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research at MIT.

×
Steven K. Galson, MD, MPH

Dr. Steven K. Galson, M.D., M.P.H., is a consultant to Amgen and serves on the Board of Directors of Insilico Medicine and Biocryst Pharmaceuticals. Until June 2020, Dr. Galson was a Senior Vice President of Research and Development at Amgen. He joined the company in 2010 as Vice President of Global Regulatory Affairs. Prior to Amgen, Dr. Galson was Senior Vice President for Civilian Health Operations and Chief Health Scientist at Science Applications International Corporation.

Galson spent more than 20 years in government service, including two years as Acting Surgeon General of the United States. Previously, he served as director of the FDA’s Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), where he provided leadership for the center’s broad national and international programs in pharmaceutical regulation.

Dr. Galson began his public health service career as an epidemiological investigator at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) after completing a residency in internal medicine at the Hospitals of the Medical College of Pennsylvania. He also held senior-level positions at the Environmental Protection Agency; the Department of Energy, where he was chief medical officer; and the Department of Health and Human Services.

Dr. Galson holds a bachelor’s degree from Stony Brook University, an MD from Mt. Sinai School of Medicine, and an MPH from the Harvard School of Public Health. Dr. Galson is a Trustee of the Keck Graduate Institute and a founding Governor of the KGI School of Community Medicine. In 2008, he received an Honorary Doctor of Public Service degree from Drexel University School of Public Health, and in 2015, he received the Jacobi Medallion Award from Icahn Mount Sinai School of Medicine. In 2018, he was named Health Leader of the Year by the Commissioned Officers Association of the United States Public Health Service. Dr. Galson is on the Executive Committee of the Clinical Trial Transformation Initiative and is a Member of the Forum on Drug Discovery, Development, and Translation at the National Academy of Medicine.

×
Mark A. Kay, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Mark Kay is the Dennis Farrey Family Professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Genetics, as well as Head of the Division of Human Gene Therapy in Pediatrics at the Stanford University School of Medicine.

Before joining Stanford, Dr. Kay was an assistant/associate professor at the University of Washington in the Department of Medicine from 1993-1998. He has been a true bench-to-bedside physician-scientist, leading the first demonstration of therapeutic rAAV transduction of the liver in small and large animal models, working out the molecular process of AAV transduction in vivo, and playing a major role in developing a clinical trial representing the first systemic delivery of rAAV in humans.

Dr. Kay is one of the founders of the American Society of Gene Therapy and served as the President from 2005-2006. He has organized many national and international conferences, including the first Gordon Conference related to gene therapy. He was elected to the American Academy of Pediatrics in 2010. In 2020 Dr. Kay was elected to the National Academy of Inventors.

Dr. Kay received his medical degree and PhD from Case Western Reserve University and completed a residency in pediatrics and a fellowship in medical genetics and inborn errors of metabolism. He completed his postdoctoral research at Baylor College of Medicine.

×
Adrian Thrasher, Ph.D.

Dr. Adrian Thrasher is a Professor of Pediatric Immunology at the UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health, London.

Trained initially in adult medicine, he completed clinical academic training scheme funded by the Wellcome Trust initially a Research Fellowship that led to a Ph.D. in molecular immunology and gene therapy. Dr. Thrasher then won a clinician scientist award, which allowed him to continue his research career while training in pediatrics, before receiving a highly prestigious principal research fellowship.

Dr. Thrasher quickly established himself as a leader of basic science gene therapy research, concentrating on the restoration of function in immunodeficiency diseases. He has played a leading role in defining the basic cytoskeletal defect in hematopoietic cells in Wiskott-Aldrich Syndrome and was the first to correct by gene transfer the underlying molecular defect in chronic granulomatous disease.

Dr. Thrasher has led the haematopoietic stem cell gene therapy program at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children, which was the first institution in the UK to achieve the successful restoration of function and recovery of child patients with severe combined immunodeficiency. Dr. Thrasher has a respected global reputation and is a frequent keynote speaker at major gene therapy and immunology conferences. He is widely regarded as one of the leaders in gene therapy research worldwide.

×
David A. Williams, M.D.

Dr. David A. Williams, M.D. is the Leland Fikes Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School, Chief of Hematology/Oncology at Boston Children's Hospital, and Associate Chair of Pediatric Oncology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

An internationally renowned researcher, Dr. Williams' work focuses on blood stem cell biology, leukemia, and gene therapy to correct genetic blood disorders.

Dr. Williams has won numerous prestigious awards for his research in the area of hematology. He is the recipient of the American Society of Gene and Cell Therapy’s Outstanding Achievement Award for his work in gene therapy in 2012. He is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and has served as President of both the American Society of Hematology and the International Society of Experimental Hematology. He co-founded the Transatlantic Gene Therapy Consortium and the North American Pediatric Aplastic Anemia Consortium and is a co-founder of Orchard Therapeutics and Alerion Biosciences. He has been continuously funded by the NIH since 1986 and was an investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute for 16 years. He has multiple patents including those leading to Neumega™ and Retronecin™ drugs.

Dr. Williams was originally trained in pediatric hematology/oncology at Boston Children’s Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. During his fellowship research at the MIT Cancer Center and the Whitehead Institute, he developed techniques that allowed for the introduction of genes into murine and human hematopoietic cells. Those techniques are still commonly utilized today.